jump to navigation

Love’ Fantasies Vs Its Reality… March 20, 2008

Posted by Giselle in Relationships.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

“Ever Ever After” is a theme I always see in fairytales.. Yet, Ive always believed in it and kept looking for “The One” for me.. After a long while, I met him. And I feel really lucky to have him in my life.. It feels as though I must have done something really good in my past life, to have got him with me to share my joys, my sorrows, my worries, my anxieties, my tears, my smiles, my particular peeves, my unpredictability… and the list goes on and on and on… 

Lately, I’ve realized that life is not a fairytale. Maybe that is because reality is such an unpredictable status!

As my relationship with my soon-to-be-husband progressed, I began to see the much more subtle aspects of love.

Love is not as we may think of it when we are in our teenage years. It is not filled with laughter, kisses, flowers and gifts… It does not include sacrifice of work for the whims and fancies of the girl/guy.. There is a lot more “work” to it. And an enormous amount of understanding.

I personally believe,that love is a bed of roses. The catch being that these roses have really sharp thorns which could poke right into you if you are not careful.. But in time, you get adjusted to these thorns and you learn how to get “around” them. Thats when the finer aspects of love surface.. Thats when the real love can be felt.. cz’  the best relationship is that which can and does survive the storm..or rather, the thorns! 

I used to think that if a guy loves me, he ought to be spending maximum amount of time with me and be at my every beck and call.. and that he would call me in the middle of the night just to say “I Love You”..and that every anniversary/special occassion would be accompanied by flowers and something romantic…. But now I know..that all this is not what is necessary for love. Because… when I look at him, I can see his love for me shining bright in his eyes. When he holds my hand, I can feel his affection and care that spreads through to me.  There is this feeling of immense joy and warmth that I realize by just being with him.

It is the one feeling that every girl in this world ought to feel sometime in their lives because it’s just the most wonderful and most curative (O yes! curative too.. Havent you heard that love can heal?? …)  emotion one can ever feel!

So is love a fantasy or a reality?? It is both.

It is this fantasy that everyone has as a child and slowly find in reality in their own sweet time.. Some find it at a young age..and others, at a later stage.. and there are still others who tumble upon this feeling at the golden years of their lives..

But once you find it, I would advise you to hold onto it. Forever. Cz’  it truly is very precious.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

